A password-protected directory is a folder that can't be accessed unless the proper login details are supplied. This can be an entire website or just a single page that is located within a subfolder. If you try to open this type of a directory, you will see an Internet browser pop-up in which you will need to enter a username and a password. In case you type in the right ones, you can continue exploring the content without having to do anything extra. If the login details aren't accurate, however, you will see a message that you aren't allowed to view the content. In case this function is enabled, you won't be able to open a file even if you have a direct link. The function is incredibly practical if you need to prohibit the access to some content or if you are creating a site and you do not want visitors to be able to access it before it is ready.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting
All our Linux shared packages come with a really useful tool which will permit you to secure any folder inside your account from unauthorized access with just two mouse clicks. As soon as you log in to your Hepsia web hosting CP, you'll simply have to visit the Password Protection section, to pick the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder that has to be secured - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to type in the username and the password which have to be used to access the content in question. The feature shall be turned on right away, so in case you attempt to open the folder/website, you will be prompted to type in the login credentials. You can create or remove multiple usernames for the very same folder, when necessary. When you navigate to the File Manager section, all password-protected folders shall be marked with a compact padlock icon.